I started Helper Sports because…

Posted: March 9, 2013 in Sports

I was asked why I am trying to get Helper Sports off the ground. It took a few weeks for an answer to come to me. But, in order to give you that answer I’ll need to get a little personal. Getting personal is not something I like doing. In fact it is in part why I love writing about sports.

I guess I’ll take you back to 2004. In January of 2004 I suffered a foot injury that would forever change my life, and the life of everyone who loved me. It was a simple injury, or so we all thought. However, that injury caused something known as RSD, or CRPS as it is called today. RSD/CRPS is a chronic systemic disease characterized by severe pain, swelling, and changes in the skin. CRPS is expected to worsen over time. Growing up and until this injury I was very active in sports.  I played mostly hockey and soccer. After the injury, everything as I knew it would change. I can no longer run, skate, do anything that it take to play sports. In fact most days I have a hard time walking. Today the CRPS has spread from my left foot to my left leg and up into my lower back. Now I write about sports, not play them. I wish that was the only personal thing that writing was helping me to deal with, but it’s not.

Let’s jump six years. December 7, 2010, this date will forever be the hardest and saddest day I have lived through so far. On this day my wife and I found out that our soon to be born daughter Brooke had passed away. Life was unfair, and I had no clue how to handle losing a child, let alone one I had no meet yet. The loss of a child is something I hope none of you have to go through. It shocks everything I knew, or thought I knew. That one night, has changed me and everything forever. I lost every passion I had; sports meant nothing, and I pushed everyone away from me. I would drift through the day not think about anything.

It has been over two years now, and this blog is my attempt to get involved in something that I once loved. I may not be able to play sports any more, and my identity may have changed but I hope this blog shows my love for sports. This is my starting point. This is something I can do. I have no idea where, or if Helper Sports will go anywhere, but here’s to hope, and change. Here’s to a new start and a fresh outlook on things.  I hope you enjoy reading my blog as much I enjoy writing it.

Comments
  1. Patrick Maggio says:

    Well put, Patrick…

Leave a Reply

